Yet more wild flowers

Wild flowers

Wild flowers

This has been a superb spring for flora in the Parque Natural de Cabo De Gata. The mild, dry winter, followed by sufficient rain this month, has turned the countryside here into a botanist’s paradise.
Path lined with gum cistus

Path lined with gum cistus

On Sunday morning we walked along the path carved out of the mountainside above Cortijo del Fraile. It is lined with bushes of aromatic gum cistus, now in flower.
Blue pimpernel and scarlet platycapnos

Blue pimpernel and scarlet platycapnos

The borders of the path were colourful with a multitude of small flowers, such as the vivid blue pimpernel and crimson platycapnos.
Echium

Echium

The mineral-rich soil of the location seems to enhance the colours of the flowers, particularly the echiums, a common Mediterranean plant.
Sawfly orchid

Sawfly orchid

In the shade, we found a splendid specimen of the very lovely sawfly orchid.
Daisies

Daisies

There were clumps of white daisies and a delicate yellow daisy which I have yet to identify.
Little marigolds

Little marigolds

These pretty little orange marigolds were also in abundance.
I am looking up this yellow flower

I am looking up this yellow flower

The area surrounding our cortijo is cleared every year for the benefit of wild partridges and the consequent removal of thyme and artemesia, which rapidly invade abandoned land and prevent other species from thriving, allow a multitude of arable flowers to spring up, such as this unusual yellow flower and ….
Allium roseum

Allium roseum

…. Allium roseum photographed yesterday.
Aizoon hispanicum

Aizoon hispanicum

I also noticed this plant growing against the old wall by the entrance to our home.
Flower of Aizoon hispanicum

Flower of Aizoon hispanicum

I had to consult a book to identify it. It is Aizoon hispanicum and, apparently, quite rare.

About Margaret Merry

I grew up in Falmouth, Cornwall, England where, after leaving Falmouth High School, I spent a year at Falmouth School of Art. Then followed three years at Hornsey College of Art in London where I obtained a Diploma in Art and Design. I then spent a post-graduate year at the West of England College of Art in Bristol where I gained an Art Teacher?s Diploma and a Certificate in Education of the University of Bristol. I lived and worked in Truro for over 30 years and became one of Cornwall's most popular artists. My paintings have been exhibited in New York, Tokyo, Paris and London and have been bought by collectors from all over the world. I have published 4 books which became local bestsellers - 'The Natural History of a Westcountry City', 'Margaret Merry's Cornish Garden Sketchbook', 'Sea & Sail' and 'Tidal Reaches'. In 2002 I moved to Spain and now live pn a small farmer the town of Alhabia in the Alpujarra Almeriense in the Province of Almeria. I now get my inspiration from the dramatic scenery of Andalucia and its old cities, towns and villages which I usually capture in watercolour. I also enjoy portraiture and figurative art, particularly nudes and dancers. For these paintings I use artists' soft pastels. I have written and illustrated 3 children's books - The Wise Old Boar, The Lonely Digger and The Adventure of Princess The Pony - which have been published in the USA.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment