JORNADA DE RECUPERACION DE OFICIOS ANTIGUAS – TERQUE

DSC02318aW

Torque this morning.

Today, in our neighbouring village of Terque, was held the annual crafts and produce fair to celebrate the old way of life in La Alpujarra Almeriense. People from all over the Province of Almeria came to the village today and it was a very special event.

DSC02349aW

This old couple were creating baskets by weaving esparto grass

DSC02362aW

Donkeys and mules were used to transport the grapes in barrels

DSC02404aW

Spinning wool

DSC02420aW

Before the grapes were packed the women would clean the bunches with fine scissors

DSC02450aW

This display of hand made cots looked distinctive against the backdrop of mountains

DSC02451aW

The tailor

DSC02457aW

Products made from marble

DSC02458aW

Greengrocer

DSC02468aW

Husking maize

DSC02476aW

Embutidos de La Alpujarra

DSC02483aW

The bakers

DSC02497aW

`Preparing chorizo

DSC02509aW

Traditional music

DSC02519aW

The knife sharpener with whistle to attract clients

DSC02526aW.jpg

Barrel making

Here are some photos Digby took this morning. To save space and time we have given all of them a descriptive caption.

About Margaret Merry

I grew up in Falmouth, Cornwall, England where, after leaving Falmouth High School, I spent a year at Falmouth School of Art. Then followed three years at Hornsey College of Art in London where I obtained a Diploma in Art and Design. I then spent a post-graduate year at the West of England College of Art in Bristol where I gained an Art Teacher?s Diploma and a Certificate in Education of the University of Bristol. I lived and worked in Truro for over 30 years and became one of Cornwall's most popular artists. My paintings have been exhibited in New York, Tokyo, Paris and London and have been bought by collectors from all over the world. I have published 4 books which became local bestsellers - 'The Natural History of a Westcountry City', 'Margaret Merry's Cornish Garden Sketchbook', 'Sea & Sail' and 'Tidal Reaches'. In 2002 I moved to Spain and now live pn a small farmer the town of Alhabia in the Alpujarra Almeriense in the Province of Almeria. I now get my inspiration from the dramatic scenery of Andalucia and its old cities, towns and villages which I usually capture in watercolour. I also enjoy portraiture and figurative art, particularly nudes and dancers. For these paintings I use artists' soft pastels. I have written and illustrated 3 children's books - The Wise Old Boar, The Lonely Digger and The Adventure of Princess The Pony - which have been published in the USA.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to JORNADA DE RECUPERACION DE OFICIOS ANTIGUAS – TERQUE

  1. Sue Whitehead says:

    Great photos and very interesting to see all the old crafts.

  2. angela Bell says:

    Margaret and Digby I really love this post,I would love to have been able to see this.The more I get older the more I like traditional arts and crafts.I am a great fan of William Morris who said”have nothing in your home that is not useful and beautiful” Actuakky that ir not exactly word for word but you get the gist of it. All the best Angela

  3. Wow, such traditional photos. Looks like something from a few decades ago. Would love to pass by there some day. Not sure I could stomach watching chorizo being made though. Best of luck.

Leave a Reply

