Love in Lanjaron

dsc08367a

El Cajon meets Daisy

We thought we would like our Ratonero Bodeguero Andaluz, Daisy, to have a litter of puppies. She is a fine dog, very intelligent, playful and a good example of her breed. Unfortunately we have not seen any suitable machos locally. Enquiries at the vets, to the breed society and internet searches proved fruitless. As she was coming season we cast our net wider and found a likely dog in Lanjaron in La Alpujarra de Granada. Though smaller than Daisy and with a docked tale he still looked a handsome dog from the photos.

dsc08365a

Daisy and El Cajon head for the woods

On Tuesday I drove Daisy up to Lanjaron, a long but easy drive now the coastal autovia to Motril has been completed. I met Rafa, the owner of Daisy’s suitor, at the edge of the town and followed him up a track through the woods above Lanjaron and stopped at his friend’s cortijo where the dogs could run loose.

dsc08366a

Romping together

Daisy and El Cojon, the dog, hit it off immediately. They ran off together into the woods, chasing each other and playing together as only Bodegueros know how. There was plenty of foreplay but no positive action.

dsc08377a

The cortijo of Rafa’s friend

Rafa, a friend of his and I sat on the terrace of the little, rustic cortijo observing the action, or lack of it. Rafa’s friend suggested that Daisy was too big, being taller than El Cojon. Rafa enquired whether she was quite ready. I asked if El Cojon had ever done the act before. Rafa said no, it will be his first time. I replied that it was Daisy’s too.

dsc08379a

The view from the terrace

Finally, after almost an hour of fooling around, El Cajon worked out his technique and the act was accomplished. I will not embarrass the dogs by publishing  photos of copulation but it was very pleasant sitting in the dappled sunlight underneath the vines of the terrace, surrounded by woodland, the sound of trickling water and the lovely views across to the hills of the Contraviesa. A totally different landscape from the Cabo de Gata.

About Margaret Merry

I grew up in Falmouth, Cornwall, England where, after leaving Falmouth High School, I spent a year at Falmouth School of Art. Then followed three years at Hornsey College of Art in London where I obtained a Diploma in Art and Design. I then spent a post-graduate year at the West of England College of Art in Bristol where I gained an Art Teacher?s Diploma and a Certificate in Education of the University of Bristol. I lived and worked in Truro for over 30 years and became one of Cornwall's most popular artists. My paintings have been exhibited in New York, Tokyo, Paris and London and have been bought by collectors from all over the world. I have published 4 books which became local bestsellers - 'The Natural History of a Westcountry City', 'Margaret Merry's Cornish Garden Sketchbook', 'Sea & Sail' and 'Tidal Reaches'. In 2002 I moved to Spain and now live pn a small farmer the town of Alhabia in the Alpujarra Almeriense in the Province of Almeria. I now get my inspiration from the dramatic scenery of Andalucia and its old cities, towns and villages which I usually capture in watercolour. I also enjoy portraiture and figurative art, particularly nudes and dancers. For these paintings I use artists' soft pastels. I have written and illustrated 3 children's books - The Wise Old Boar, The Lonely Digger and The Adventure of Princess The Pony - which have been published in the USA.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

