A different view of Granada

 

dsc07100a

The Plaza Nueva, Granada not San Pedro, Las Negras

Here are some of  my, Digby, photos of Granada which I took today. First I  spotted this naked hippy taking his rubbish to the bins in the Plaza Nueva in the centre of Granada. By the time I got my cameraa out he was walking away through the shade and crowds. We encounter many such people around Las Negras, in particular San Pedro, but never before in the centre of a large, bustling city.

dsc07102

Puerta de Los Tristes

I liked the light, colours and composition of this image outside a bar. It tells a story too.

dsc07106a

Old Vespa, Old City

This old vespa with the old buildings also made a good image.

dsc07135a

Market in the Albaicin

At the top of the Albaicin, in this old square, it was matket day. I liked the light and shadows formed by the trees and the group of old people.

dsc07128a

Albaicin Cat

You cannot walk through the Albaicin without speaking to a cat.

dsc07170a

A clash of colours

At the bottom of the Albaicin is a street of colourful shops. In front of one was an equally colourful shopper.

dsc07173a

La Campesina

Finally , by the cathedral, a living statue of a peasant woman. I thought I would include the other figure as I thought he added to the composition and story.

About Margaret Merry

I grew up in Falmouth, Cornwall, England where, after leaving Falmouth High School, I spent a year at Falmouth School of Art. Then followed three years at Hornsey College of Art in London where I obtained a Diploma in Art and Design. I then spent a post-graduate year at the West of England College of Art in Bristol where I gained an Art Teacher?s Diploma and a Certificate in Education of the University of Bristol. I lived and worked in Truro for over 30 years and became one of Cornwall's most popular artists. My paintings have been exhibited in New York, Tokyo, Paris and London and have been bought by collectors from all over the world. I have published 4 books which became local bestsellers - 'The Natural History of a Westcountry City', 'Margaret Merry's Cornish Garden Sketchbook', 'Sea & Sail' and 'Tidal Reaches'. In 2002 I moved to Spain and now live in the little coastal village of Las Negras in the heart of the Parque Natural de Cabo de Gata. I now get my inspiration from the dramatic scenery of Andalucia and its old cities, towns and villages which I usually capture in watercolour. I also enjoy figurative art, particularly nudes and dancers. For these paintings I use artists' soft pastels. I have written and illustrated 3 children's books - The Wise Old Boar, The Lonely Digger and The Adventure of Princess The Pony - which have been published in the USA.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

