Autumn in Granada

The Alhambra from the Generalife Gardens

The Alhambra from the Generalife Gardens

This morning I left las Negras at 6am to drive to Granada. I wanted to capture the autumn colours in this beautiful city. After the recent rain there should be plenty of snow on the Sierra Nevada but the weather forecast was warm and sunny.

Gardens of the Alhambra

Gardens of the Alhambra

I needed to leave early so I would be in the queue for tickets to the Alhambra before 9am. Only 800 non pre-booked tickets are sold on the day and the queue gets longer as the morning progresses.

The Alhambra from the Generalife Palace

The Alhambra from the Generalife Palace

Here are some of the photos I took. It was a perfect day.

The Paseo

The Paseo Padre Manjon

When I left the Alhambra I walked down to the city and walked along the Acera del Darro to the Paseo Padre Manjon.

Calle Victoria

Calle Victoria

From here I walked up Calle Victoria to the Albaicin.

Mirador San Nicolas

Mirador San Nicolas

From the Mirador San Nicolas the views were fantastic.

The gardens of the Mosque

The gardens of the Mosque

A quieter spot was the gardens of the nearby Mosque which has equally good views.

The Alhambra and the Sierra Nevada

The Alhambra and the Sierra Nevada

Back towards the city centre there is another good view of the sierras and Alhambra from this recreational area.

A corner in the Albaicin

A corner in the Albaicin

My last photo is of this little placeta in the Albaicin at the top of the street of Arabic shops and tea rooms. It has been a long day so not much time left to write a lot about it but I hope the photos tell a story.

About Margaret Merry

I grew up in Falmouth, Cornwall, England where, after leaving Falmouth High School, I spent a year at Falmouth School of Art. Then followed three years at Hornsey College of Art in London where I obtained a Diploma in Art and Design. I then spent a post-graduate year at the West of England College of Art in Bristol where I gained an Art Teacher?s Diploma and a Certificate in Education of the University of Bristol. I lived and worked in Truro for over 30 years and became one of Cornwall's most popular artists. My paintings have been exhibited in New York, Tokyo, Paris and London and have been bought by collectors from all over the world. I have published 4 books which became local bestsellers - 'The Natural History of a Westcountry City', 'Margaret Merry's Cornish Garden Sketchbook', 'Sea & Sail' and 'Tidal Reaches'. In 2002 I moved to Spain and now live in the little coastal village of Las Negras in the heart of the Parque Natural de Cabo de Gata. I now get my inspiration from the dramatic scenery of Andalucia and its old cities, towns and villages which I usually capture in watercolour. I also enjoy figurative art, particularly nudes and dancers. For these paintings I use artists' soft pastels. I have written and illustrated 3 children's books - The Wise Old Boar, The Lonely Digger and The Adventure of Princess The Pony - which have been published in the USA.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Autumn in Granada

  1. Kit Domino says:

    Stunning photos. It must be the perfect time to visit Granada.

Leave a Reply

