Testing bike and route

Las Hortichuelas Altas

Las Hortichuelas Altas

I have been given a Swiss made Flyer electric bike to try out until next Tuesday. This is the make of bike that I have been offered for the group from Ireland who want to explore the Parque Natural de Cabo de Gata by bike after Easter.
The old road past Las Hortichuelas

The old road past Las Hortichuelas

This morning I tested it on one of my suggested routes. From Las Negras I headed towards Las Hortichuelas and took the old road past the village. This used to be the main road linking Las Negras and Las Hortichuelas to civilisation.
The track down to Cortijo del Montana

The track down to Cortijo del Montana

After a couple of km, before the old road reunites with the new one I took a track on the left down to Cortijo del Montana.
Cortijo del Montana

Cortijo del Montana

This track is quite stony and bumpy but, with care, it did not present many problems for the bike.
With the group I intend to stop at Cortijo del Montana so that they can look around this excellent example of traditional, Almerian rural architecture, but today I carried on taking a track to the left to Cortijo del Fraile.
Riders passing Cortijo del Montana

Riders passing Cortijo del Montana

I did not meet any other walkers or cyclists en route but I did encounter these three riders. A typical picture from Andalucia.
The track an olive tree in Cortijo del Fraile

The track an olive tree in Cortijo del Fraile

The track through Cortijo del Fraile is wide and smooth. There was some cloud about which created some dramatic contrast between light and shade.
Fields of Lettuce at Cortijo del Fraile

Fields of Lettuce at Cortijo del Fraile

There is some intensive agriculture in the fields of Cortijo del Fraile, particularly of salad plants, but because it is within the Parque Natural plastic greenhouses are not permitted.
Ruins of La Ermita del Fraile

Ruins of La Ermita del Fraile

At the ruins of La Ermita del Fraile I took the left track towards Rodalquilar, The Ermita is in a sorry state of ruin while the disputes as to who should be responsible for restoring it continue. It is regarded as of great cultural significance because of its association with the poet, Federico Garcia Lorca’s famous play “Blood wedding”.
The track to Rodalquilar with the Minas de Avalon ahead

The track to Rodalquilar with the Minas de Avalon ahead

With the group I intend to stop and explore the old gold mine. Minas de Avelon, where scenes from “Exodus” were filned last year.
El Pueblo Minero de San Diego

El Pueblo Minero de San Diego

Also we will stop to explore the old gold mining village, Pueblo Minero de San Diego. From here it is a short cycle to Rodalquilar where we will stop for some refreshment and then return along the road to Las Negras. On the way back, if the weather is good, we will probably take the track down to El Playazo to spend some time on the beach.

About Margaret Merry

I grew up in Falmouth, Cornwall, England where, after leaving Falmouth High School, I spent a year at Falmouth School of Art. Then followed three years at Hornsey College of Art in London where I obtained a Diploma in Art and Design. I then spent a post-graduate year at the West of England College of Art in Bristol where I gained an Art Teacher?s Diploma and a Certificate in Education of the University of Bristol. I lived and worked in Truro for over 30 years and became one of Cornwall's most popular artists. My paintings have been exhibited in New York, Tokyo, Paris and London and have been bought by collectors from all over the world. I have published 4 books which became local bestsellers - 'The Natural History of a Westcountry City', 'Margaret Merry's Cornish Garden Sketchbook', 'Sea & Sail' and 'Tidal Reaches'. In 2002 I moved to Spain and now live in the little coastal village of Las Negras in the heart of the Parque Natural de Cabo de Gata. I now get my inspiration from the dramatic scenery of Andalucia and its old cities, towns and villages which I usually capture in watercolour. I also enjoy figurative art, particularly nudes and dancers. For these paintings I use artists' soft pastels. I have written and illustrated 3 children's books - The Wise Old Boar, The Lonely Digger and The Adventure of Princess The Pony - which have been published in the USA.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Testing bike and route

  1. Margaret i ser how much YOU enjoy Spain. Whenever YOU come to Granada just tell me and i will design a plan for YOU in granada and its villares. Of course YOU are mostrar welcome to my workshop

  2. Angela bell says:

    What agreat tour,it looks so beautiful with the greenery. What alandscape it is.

Leave a Reply

