Autumn colours of Granada

Tourists at the Mirador San Nicolas

I went to Granada today. It was a last chance this year to capture the colours of autumn in this beautiful city.

Santa Ana church

This tour starts at the Plaza Nueva with the lovely church of Santa Ana.

The Rio Darro

From there I walked alongside the Rio Darro.

Ornate buildings and plane trees

The golden colours of the plane trees stood out against the clear blues sky and the magnificent old buildings.

The Alhambra from Mirador San Nicolas

Up the hill to the Mirador San Nicolas. One never tires of this view of the Alhambra with the snow covered Sierra Nevada behind.

Street of shops and tea rooms

Back down to the city centre through the Arab quarter with its tea rooms and colourful shops.

Morocco or Spain?

You would think you were in Morocco not Spain.

Blog by Digby

About Margaret Merry

I grew up in Falmouth, Cornwall, England where, after leaving Falmouth High School, I spent a year at Falmouth School of Art. Then followed three years at Hornsey College of Art in London where I obtained a Diploma in Art and Design. I then spent a post-graduate year at the West of England College of Art in Bristol where I gained an Art Teacher?s Diploma and a Certificate in Education of the University of Bristol. I lived and worked in Truro for over 30 years and became one of Cornwall's most popular artists. My paintings have been exhibited in New York, Tokyo, Paris and London and have been bought by collectors from all over the world. I have published 4 books which became local bestsellers - 'The Natural History of a Westcountry City', 'Margaret Merry's Cornish Garden Sketchbook', 'Sea & Sail' and 'Tidal Reaches'. In 2002 I moved to Spain and now live pn a small farmer the town of Alhabia in the Alpujarra Almeriense in the Province of Almeria. I now get my inspiration from the dramatic scenery of Andalucia and its old cities, towns and villages which I usually capture in watercolour. I also enjoy portraiture and figurative art, particularly nudes and dancers. For these paintings I use artists' soft pastels. I have written and illustrated 3 children's books - The Wise Old Boar, The Lonely Digger and The Adventure of Princess The Pony - which have been published in the USA.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Autumn colours of Granada

  1. Hello,
    I don’t know how you feel about awards but I would like to nominate you for the award of Inspiring blogger.
    Here is what you should do:
    1.display the award on your blog
    2.linl back to the person who nominated you
    3.state 7things about you
    4.nominate 15 bloggers and link to their site
    5.notify them they have been nominated and link to the post
    Thanks for all your great posts and congratulations !

  2. Tony Unwin says:

    looks beautiful… we really need to get there, have been in this corner of Spain for two years now and still not made it there yet..

  3. jeune01 says:

    Wonderful photos again Digby………….thanks…………June

  4. angela bell says:

    Hi Digby,I never got to the Albiacin when we visited Granada,it is on my list!! Lovely colourful photos.Hope things are going to get better for Spain soon but I think we are all in for a hard time financially.The fall of the West has begun!

Leave a Reply

