Las Salinas & El Faro

Las Salinas

This morning we took our friends on a tour of the western part of the Parque Natural de Cabo de Gata. First we stopped at Las Salinas, the salt flats.

Wading flamingoes. Avocets in flightThey enjoyed watching the birds, particularly the flamingoes and avocets.

La Iglesia de Las Salinas

Then we went to the newly restored La Iglesia de las Salinas. This church looks lovely now particularly set against the bright blue sky.

Old boats and the newly restored church

On the other side of the road fishing boats are pulled on the sand.

Playa del Almadraba

This long stretch of beach is called Playa del Almadraba.

El Faro

We carried on to El Faro de Gata. We stopped below the famous lighthouse to get a better view and ….

Kayaks among Las Sirenas

…. then from the lighthouse looked down at the rocks, Las Sirenas. The clear, calm sea was perfect for kayaks.

Cala Raja

We drove a little further to the cove Cala Raja.

Beach at San Miguel

On the way back we stopped at San Miguel de Cabo de Gata where bathers and fishing boats share the beach. We dropped our guests off at Almeria coach station. They are a well travelled couple but were smitten by the beauty of the Parque Natural.

Boata and boat sheds, San Miguel

We have posted photos of these places before but these I think are a little different.

 

About Margaret Merry

I grew up in Falmouth, Cornwall, England where, after leaving Falmouth High School, I spent a year at Falmouth School of Art. Then followed three years at Hornsey College of Art in London where I obtained a Diploma in Art and Design. I then spent a post-graduate year at the West of England College of Art in Bristol where I gained an Art Teacher?s Diploma and a Certificate in Education of the University of Bristol. I lived and worked in Truro for over 30 years and became one of Cornwall's most popular artists. My paintings have been exhibited in New York, Tokyo, Paris and London and have been bought by collectors from all over the world. I have published 4 books which became local bestsellers - 'The Natural History of a Westcountry City', 'Margaret Merry's Cornish Garden Sketchbook', 'Sea & Sail' and 'Tidal Reaches'. In 2002 I moved to Spain and now live pn a small farmer the town of Alhabia in the Alpujarra Almeriense in the Province of Almeria. I now get my inspiration from the dramatic scenery of Andalucia and its old cities, towns and villages which I usually capture in watercolour. I also enjoy portraiture and figurative art, particularly nudes and dancers. For these paintings I use artists' soft pastels. I have written and illustrated 3 children's books - The Wise Old Boar, The Lonely Digger and The Adventure of Princess The Pony - which have been published in the USA.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Las Salinas & El Faro

  1. Angela says:

    Digby fab pics,I really enjoy your daily trips and visiting amazing Almeria from my laptop.The birds are fantastic.

Leave a Reply

