A stroll around Las Hortichuelas Altas

Las Hortichuelas Altas

This morning we took a circular stroll around Las Hortichuelas Altas.

Palms below Las Hortichuelas

Following a path below the village, we passed small fields cultivated with onions and broad beans, great  bushes of cane and fig, almond and palm trees, laden with dates. It is quite fertile here and there is obviously plenty of water.

Beehives

Further along, we came across some beehives and presently found another path leading back to the top of the village.

Bougainvillaea

Cottage with washing

We walked through the maze of narrow streets, colourful with bougainvillaea growing outside many of the cottages, and took the lane down to the spring.

Lane to the spring

Looking at birds

It was particularly lush here and all around us were darting dragonflies and warblers flitting in and out of the bamboo.

The village spring

If you click on the photos they will enlarge.

About Margaret Merry

I grew up in Falmouth, Cornwall, England where, after leaving Falmouth High School, I spent a year at Falmouth School of Art. Then followed three years at Hornsey College of Art in London where I obtained a Diploma in Art and Design. I then spent a post-graduate year at the West of England College of Art in Bristol where I gained an Art Teacher?s Diploma and a Certificate in Education of the University of Bristol. I lived and worked in Truro for over 30 years and became one of Cornwall's most popular artists. My paintings have been exhibited in New York, Tokyo, Paris and London and have been bought by collectors from all over the world. I have published 4 books which became local bestsellers - 'The Natural History of a Westcountry City', 'Margaret Merry's Cornish Garden Sketchbook', 'Sea & Sail' and 'Tidal Reaches'. In 2002 I moved to Spain and now live in the little coastal village of Las Negras in the heart of the Parque Natural de Cabo de Gata. I now get my inspiration from the dramatic scenery of Andalucia and its old cities, towns and villages which I usually capture in watercolour. I also enjoy figurative art, particularly nudes and dancers. For these paintings I use artists' soft pastels. I have written and illustrated 3 children's books - The Wise Old Boar, The Lonely Digger and The Adventure of Princess The Pony - which have been published in the USA.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A stroll around Las Hortichuelas Altas

  1. Angela Bell says:

    Hello you two,lovely pics as usual of Hortichuelas!.I have a picture of Caroline sitting by the spring with a little frog in her hands. She is wearing a white sun dress and some little red satin oriental shoes. Not suitable footwear but I remember her insisting on wearing them that day. You keep taking me down memory lane and it is lovely to see that the place still has such rustic charm.Has Digby thought of school geology tripe to the area it is a wonderful place for the geography teachers to be let loose!

Leave a Reply

