Norias en el Valle de Rodalquilar

Palm trees in the Valley of Rodalquilar

In the valley of Rodalquilar, behind El Playazo beach, there is an oasis of palm trees.

The oasis of palms with the two norias and the Castillo de Rodalquilar behind

There must be a good water supply here as the authorities have restored two old norias (waterwheels) linked by a balsa (small water reservoir). These norias were used to draw water from the wells with the aid of mule power.

A closer look at the two norias and balsa

The mule would be harnessed to a pole attached to the machinery and led around in a circle to turn the wheel.

Looking back towards the beach

A month ago, the length of El Playazo was lined with colourful sunshades because the beach is popular with families.

El Playazo this morning

Today, although sunny and warm, it shows a different picture: it is now October and the Levante wind,  still with us, is keeping the crowds away.

About Margaret Merry

I grew up in Falmouth, Cornwall, England where, after leaving Falmouth High School, I spent a year at Falmouth School of Art. Then followed three years at Hornsey College of Art in London where I obtained a Diploma in Art and Design. I then spent a post-graduate year at the West of England College of Art in Bristol where I gained an Art Teacher?s Diploma and a Certificate in Education of the University of Bristol. I lived and worked in Truro for over 30 years and became one of Cornwall's most popular artists. My paintings have been exhibited in New York, Tokyo, Paris and London and have been bought by collectors from all over the world. I have published 4 books which became local bestsellers - 'The Natural History of a Westcountry City', 'Margaret Merry's Cornish Garden Sketchbook', 'Sea & Sail' and 'Tidal Reaches'. In 2002 I moved to Spain and now live pn a small farmer the town of Alhabia in the Alpujarra Almeriense in the Province of Almeria. I now get my inspiration from the dramatic scenery of Andalucia and its old cities, towns and villages which I usually capture in watercolour. I also enjoy portraiture and figurative art, particularly nudes and dancers. For these paintings I use artists' soft pastels. I have written and illustrated 3 children's books - The Wise Old Boar, The Lonely Digger and The Adventure of Princess The Pony - which have been published in the USA.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Norias en el Valle de Rodalquilar

  1. findlay cook says:

    Hello Margaret –

    I stumbled over your site while looking for a bus from Almeria to Rodalquilar and was much taken by your observations of the local flora and geology. I should explain that I know the Cabo de Gata well having walked the coastal path from Las Negras to Aguamarga many times in search of the sights you describe. This year, rather than hire a car I want to use public transport to reach the coast and thereafter to camp, probably at La Caleta by Las Negras. What I’d like to learn is whether I should travel to Las Hortichelas or to Isleta del Moro, which seem the only destinations served by operators from Almeria (Alsa and Bernardo). The choice seems to be a tradeoff between frequency and proximity to Rodalquilar – can you give me any insights along these lines?
    I look forward to your response.
    Regards
    Findlay Cook
    findlaygordon@hotmail.com
    York
    07708 230558

Leave a Reply

