Christmas Disaster

Sierra Nevada the day after Christmas

We hope you all enjoyed Christmas. Our’s almost ended in disaster.

We had a power cut on the evening of Christmas Day which lasted several hours, so no Christmas TV. We played scrabble by candlelight instead. The following day was wonderfully warm, sunny and bright and the Sierra Nevada looked so spectacular that we thought we’d drive up to the summit of our hills after lunch in order to look at the splendid panorama from up there. We were bumping away up a stony track when Digby suddenly decided to take one of his famous short cuts through an olive grove. After driving up through the grove it became obvious that there was no clear track so I got out with the dogs and walked to the summit leaving him to park the old Montero. After walking a short distance, I glanced back at the car and had the strangest experience. For the briefest moment, the car seemed to stand out in stark relief against the shadowy trees and in the same instant I thought to myself that there was no way I was going to get back into it. I reached the summit and duly admired the view. The light was so clear that I could see Granada at the foot of the Sierra – an astonishing site. When Digby turned up I told him I was going to walk back home and left him taking photographs.

Scene of the accident

Eventually, I found my way back to the main track and as I was walking along, I heard the Montero being started up and driven through the olive groves. Just as I  was approaching the place where Digby had turned off the main track, I heard the roaring of the engine and saw the car hurtling down the steep slope at an alarming speed. Before I realised what was happening, it crashed with an almighty bang, into a narrow barranco ending up in an almost vertical position. After a few seconds Digby crawled out, covered in blood from a most horrible head wound. There was nobody around to ask for help, so we had no choice but to make our way down the hillside to our house, leaving a trail of blood. Our neighbours took us both to the health centre at Huétor Tájar where there is a 24 hour emergency department. There they cleaned him up, wrapped his head in a bandage and inserted a drip before sending him to Granada in an ambulance. At the hospital he was examined thoroughly, X-rayed and stitched together again. The wound needed more than 30 stitches and it took an hour and a half to sew it together. An ambulance returned him home at 2300 and he immediately ate a dish of turkey curry which he said he enjoyed.

 

 

About Margaret Merry

I grew up in Falmouth, Cornwall, England where, after leaving Falmouth High School, I spent a year at Falmouth School of Art. Then followed three years at Hornsey College of Art in London where I obtained a Diploma in Art and Design. I then spent a post-graduate year at the West of England College of Art in Bristol where I gained an Art Teacher?s Diploma and a Certificate in Education of the University of Bristol. I lived and worked in Truro for over 30 years and became one of Cornwall's most popular artists. My paintings have been exhibited in New York, Tokyo, Paris and London and have been bought by collectors from all over the world. I have published 4 books which became local bestsellers - 'The Natural History of a Westcountry City', 'Margaret Merry's Cornish Garden Sketchbook', 'Sea & Sail' and 'Tidal Reaches'. In 2002 I moved to Spain and now live in the little coastal village of Las Negras in the heart of the Parque Natural de Cabo de Gata. I now get my inspiration from the dramatic scenery of Andalucia and its old cities, towns and villages which I usually capture in watercolour. I also enjoy figurative art, particularly nudes and dancers. For these paintings I use artists' soft pastels. I have written and illustrated 3 children's books - The Wise Old Boar, The Lonely Digger and The Adventure of Princess The Pony - which have been published in the USA.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Christmas Disaster

  1. June de Barros says:

    Whow…………what a Christmas story…………..you’ll remember this one for ever…………hope the wounds are healing Digby and thank goodness Margaret that at least you were spared the ‘crash’……….what can one say……2011 MUST be a better year for you!

Leave a Reply

