Springtime in Granada

San Basilio

San Basilio

Yesterday I went to Granada. Spring is the best time of year to visit this lovely city. The light and colours are at their best and the city is full of life with its tourist season at its height. As usual I started my walk around the city by heading down the Cuesta Genil from San Basilio church.
Book fair in the Cuesta Genil

Book fair in the Cuesta Genil

There was a book fair on at the city and the Cuesta was lined with book stalls all the way down to the Puerta Real.
The Plaza Capilla

The Plaza Capilla

In the Plaza Capillo children were amusing themselves with colourful balloons.
Calle Reyes Catolicos

Calle Reyes Catolicos

I love the colourful facades of the beautiful old buildings along Calle Reyes Catolicos.
Facades of Calle Reyes Catolicos

Facades of Calle Reyes Catolicos

Although the stores are modern the classical buildings have been beautifully preserved.
Plaza Cuchilleros

Plaza Cuchilleros

The Plaza Cuchilleros also has some fine old buildings.
The Plaza Nueva

The Plaza Nueva

Then I reached the Plaza Nueva. Instead of the usual shot of Santa Ana Church I turned around and took this photo looking the other way. I think the young people moving around on the two wheeled vehicles are offering tours to the holidaymakers.
Snacking outside Santa Ana

Snacking outside Santa Ana

Outside Santa Ana Church these girls were enjoying a food break and concentrating very much on the task in hand rather than their beautiful surroundings.
Carretera del Darro

Carretera del Darro

As usual tourists were strolling along the Carretera del Darro.
Busking in Granada

Busking in Granada

This violinist was among many street entertainers busking for a little money.
Paseo Padre Manjon

Paseo Padre Manjon

The Paseo Padre Manjon was full of life and colour too.
Pink blossom

Pink blossom

Particularly pretty were the trees with the deep pink blossom but I am not sure of their name.
Arabic shops

Arabic shops

Back towards the centre I always like to walk down this street which is lined with Arabic shops and tea rooms.
Lit by lanterns

Lit by lanterns

The insides are often illuminated by the colourful lanterns they have for sale.
Painting in the square

Painting in the square

Finally at 1400 I reached the Plaza Bib Rambla when it had started to cloud over. This artist had obviously started his work earlier in the day when the sky was a clear blue.

About Margaret Merry

I grew up in Falmouth, Cornwall, England where, after leaving Falmouth High School, I spent a year at Falmouth School of Art. Then followed three years at Hornsey College of Art in London where I obtained a Diploma in Art and Design. I then spent a post-graduate year at the West of England College of Art in Bristol where I gained an Art Teacher?s Diploma and a Certificate in Education of the University of Bristol. I lived and worked in Truro for over 30 years and became one of Cornwall's most popular artists. My paintings have been exhibited in New York, Tokyo, Paris and London and have been bought by collectors from all over the world. I have published 4 books which became local bestsellers - 'The Natural History of a Westcountry City', 'Margaret Merry's Cornish Garden Sketchbook', 'Sea & Sail' and 'Tidal Reaches'. In 2002 I moved to Spain and now live in the little coastal village of Las Negras in the heart of the Parque Natural de Cabo de Gata. I now get my inspiration from the dramatic scenery of Andalucia and its old cities, towns and villages which I usually capture in watercolour. I also enjoy figurative art, particularly nudes and dancers. For these paintings I use artists' soft pastels. I have written and illustrated 3 children's books - The Wise Old Boar, The Lonely Digger and The Adventure of Princess The Pony - which have been published in the USA.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Springtime in Granada

  1. Wow, Granada is so pretty in the spring.

Leave a Reply

